The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

February 28, 2013

BLOG: Carl Junction's McPherson, Seneca's Ng highlight Big 8 awards

By Ryan Atkinson
Globe Sports Writer

— Carl Junction's Brenlee McPherson and Seneca's Kyler Ng earned Big 8 Player of the Year Honors as the conference announced postseason awards.

McPherson -- a unanimous selection on the first team -- highlighted a rush of sophomores who made their mark in Big 8 player on the girls side. Three of the five first-team selections were sophmores and three more earned either second-team or honorable mention honors.

Ng was a unanimous selection on the boys side, joined by Mount Vernon's Shane Williams and Chandler Myers. Carl Junction's Travis Vogt and Matt Magee were also first-team selections.


All-Big 8
First team--Kyler Ng, sr., Seneca (U); Shane Williams, sr., Mount Vernon (U);
Chandler Myers, soph., Mount Vernon (U); Matt Magee, jr., Carl Junction;
Travis Vogt, sr., Carl Junction.
Second team--Kyle Woods, sr., Monett; Tripp Tucker, soph., Lamar; Bryce
Zimmerman, soph., East Newton; Zane Phillips, sr., Mount Vernon; Logan St.
Clair, jr., Seneca.
Honorable mention--Garrett Kirk, sr., Cassville; Bradley Jumper, jr., Seneca;
Drew Parker, sr., Aurora; Garrett Bader, jr., Aurora; Ethan Lowery, jr.,
Special mention (injury)--Daniel Noah, sr., Seneca.
Player of the Year--Kyler Ng, Seneca
Coach of the Year--Will King, Seneca

First team--Brenlee McPherson, soph., Carl Junction (U); Mackenzie Farmer,
soph., Mount Vernon; Tamiaya Henderson, sr., Mount Vernon; Kourtney
Brewster, soph., East Newton; Shelby Thomlinson, sr., East Newton.
Second team--Kendra Eden, soph., Aurora; Rachel Parker, soph., Aurora; Bryce
Boyd, jr., Carl Junction; Aurey LaSalle, sr., Mount Vernon; Emily Speakman,
sr., Cassville.
Honorable Mention--Maria Chism, fr., Carl Junction; Haley Heilig, sr., East Newton;
Ryan O'Sullivan, soph., Lamar; Taylor Jackson, jr., Lamar; Molli Cooper,
jr., Seneca.
Player of the Year--Brenlee McPherson, Carl Junction
Coach of the Year--Jamie LaSalle, Mount Vernon