The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

High School Sports

May 25, 2013

Colgan blanks Silver Lake in Class 3A baseball championship game

MANHATTAN, Kan. —  Pittsburg St. Mary’s-Colgan won its 17th state baseball championship in emphatic fashion on Friday night.

The Class 3A semifinal was a taut affair — 3-2 against No. 1 seed Wichita Independent in a clash of Panthers — before Colgan bounced Silver Lake 10-0 in six innings.

Fifth-seeded Colgan, coached by Mike Watt, finished 20-5 in winning 3A for the first time in its second try. Third-seeded Silver Lake, seeking a 16th state crown, finished  20-4.

Colgan, which finished with 12 hits, jumped on Silver Lake for four runs and four hits in the the first inning and duplicated the feat in the third.

Drew Dawson, a junior, was the winning pitcher in the title game. He also knocked in the decisive run in the semifinals. Dawson spiced his performance in the title contest by leading off the third inning with a home run.

Dawson limited Silver Lake to seven hits. He didn’t post a strikeout but also walked only two batters. He hit another batter.

The Panthers’ Nate Grimaldi singled to start the game, stole second and moved to third on Colton Gilbert’s bunt single. After Gilbert swiped second, Christian Cedeno’s single scored both runners.

Ryan Cedeno’s bunt single and a walk to Dawson loaded the bases with one out. Grant Normand walked to force in a run, and V.J. Piccini delivered another run with a sacrifice fly to left.

Ryan Cedeno’s run-scoring double made it 5-0 in the second, and the Panthers mounted another four-run rally in the third, ignited by Dawson’s homer to left. Christian Cedeno capped the spree with a two-run single, finishing with two hits and four runs batted in.

Yoakum Tully plated the final run with a single in the sixth inning.

Grimaldi, Ryan Cedeno and Dawson matched Christian Cedeno’s two hits.

Independent scored two runs in the bottom of the first inning to take the early lead.

But Colgan scored once in the second inning and two in the third.

A single by Christian Cedeno, a sacrifice by Austin Kratz and a single by Normand produced the tally in the second.

Doubles by Grimaldi and Gilbert caught Independent in the third, and Dawson singled home Gilbert with the decisive run.

Piccini worked 5 1/3 innings for the pitching decision. Christian Cedeno finished for the save, ending the game with a whiff with a runner on second base.

CNC or Silver Lake

For the last nine years, either a CNC League team or Silver Lake has won the Class 3A baseball state championship:

2005 — Silver Lake

2006 — Baxter Springs

2007 — Baxter Springs

2008 — Silver Lake

2009 — Silver Lake

2010 — Galena

2011 — Silver Lake

2012 — Frontenac

2013 — St. Mary’s-Colgan

Text Only
High School Sports