The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

High School Sports

June 1, 2013

Grin Iron West squad loaded with local standouts

— The Grin Iron Classic high school all-star football game is scheduled for 7:30 p.m. Friday at JFK Stadium in Springfield.

Chad DePee, who guided Monett into the Class 2 semifinals last November, was chosen as head coach of the West squad.

“I’ve coached in it a couple of times,” DePee said. “Really, the Sertoma Club and Ronald McDonald House, it’s their biggest fundraiser. All of these guys are tremendous athletes.”

Players selected to the West squad include defensive end Jarad Bader of Joplin, running back Nick Thompson of Carl Junction and defensive back Jalen Skaggs of Seneca.

Class 4 state champion Webb City will be represented by linebacker/safety Nate Brown, kicker Alex Easley, running back/linebacker Phoenix Johnson, quarterback John Roderique, defensive end Jose Speer, center Seth Watkins and free safety Logan Williams.

Webb City defensive coordinator Mike Smith will assist DePee along with Rick Scholten of Aurora, Lance Roweton of Bolivar, Joel Wells and Lance Jarman of Kickapoo, Tom Hodge of Seneca, and Derrek Uhl and Jim Benzler of Monett. Will Christian of Lebanon is head coach of the East squad.

“It’s a great honor for the players and us as coaches,” DePee said. “We’re honored to be a part.

“It makes for a fun time when guys who have played against each other for years are playing on the same team.”

The West team will practice today through Thursday at Monett, DePee said.

Carthage will represented by running back Seth Beckner, tackle Bryan Burns and defensive back Jordan Dangerfield.

Chosen from Class 2 state champion Lamar are lineman Keenan Begley, tackle Austin Boice, and linebackers Jade Morgan and Chad Rice.

Also selected were linebacker Everett Basham of Aurora, lineman Clayton Harrell of East Newton, lineman Tyler Richardson and wide receiver Shane Williams of Mount Vernon and defensive back Cedric O’Hara of Pierce City.

Monett players selected are strong safety Kurran Blamey, lineman Reese Bounous, and linebackers Matt Murphy and Devon Overall.

Representing Cassville are lineman Josh Carlton, linebacker Cody Frana and tackle Drew Henbest.

Nevada players chosen are running back Dalton Hendren and linemen Nick Connor and Sam Ellifrits. Miller will be represented by quarterback Dalton Gulick, running back Derrick Estell and linemen Kyle Davidson and Jacob Lundquist.

Text Only
High School Sports