The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

Local News

April 8, 2014

Carthage voters return incumbents to school board

CARTHAGE, Mo. — Voters in the Carthage School District returned three incumbents to posts on the Board of Education on Tuesday.

Winning additional terms on the panel were Elizabeth Streich, Jeff Jones and Tony Diggs, defeating challengers Kent Hogan and Jennifer Lambeth.

Streich led the field with 1,404 votes; followed by Jones, with 1,241 votes; Diggs, with 1,214; Lambeth, with 844; and Hogan, with 504, according to complete but unofficial totals.

Streich, 56, 1055 Garrison Ave., is completing her first three-year board term. She is retired from education, having worked for 18 years in the Carthage School District and six years in the Independence School District. A district resident for 20 years, she attended Central Missouri State University for two years.

Jones, 47, 9935 County Lane 185, is completing his third term on the board. He is executive director of Innovative Industries in Carthage and has lived in the district for 45 years. He is a graduate of Carthage High School and holds a degree in management technology from Missouri Southern State University.

Diggs, 53, 2327 Alison St., is completing his fifth three-year term on the board. A lifelong Carthage resident, he is a graduate of Carthage High School and Missouri Southern State University. He works as an engineer.

Text Only
Local News
Must Read


Given that the U.S. Supreme Court has ruled that electronic devices and communications are protected from searches and seizure without a warrant, do you think Missouri needs Amendment 9 added to its constitution?

A. Yes.
B. No.
     View Results
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter