The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

Local News

December 25, 2012

Swearing-in ceremonies set for county officials

Swearing-in ceremonies set for Thursday and Friday will mark new terms of office for new and re-elected officials in Jasper and Newton counties.

Ceremonies for Newton County officials are set for 1 p.m. Thursday in the Division 1 courtroom of the courthouse in Neosho.

Jasper County officials will repeat their oaths of office at 10 a.m. Friday in the Division 4 courtroom in the courthouse in Carthage.

Both events are open to the public.

In Newton County, two of the County Commission’s three members will be new to the office starting in January. Taking the posts will be Alan Cook, as the newly elected District 1 associate commissioner, and Jim Jackson, as District 2 associate commissioner.

The two men won out in primary and general election races and will succeed longtime Commissioners Jerry Black and Jack Sanders, who are retiring at the end of the year. Marilyn Ruestman is the presiding commissioner.

The associate commissioner races were the only contests on the general election ballot in Newton County.

Ken Copeland was successful in a two-way primary race to essentially win re-election as sheriff, and JeAnna McGarrah won a primary race for public administrator. She replaces Diane Dodson, who did not seek another term.

Incumbents re-elected without opposition to additional terms are Gina Rodriguez, treasurer; Mark Bridges, coroner; Gloria Gourley, assessor; James Loncarich, surveyor; and Tim Perigo, circuit judge.

In Jasper County, the only general election contest was for sheriff, where Randee Kaiser won over John Karriman. Kaiser defeated Sheriff Archie Dunn, the incumbent, and Larry Newman, former sheriff’s deputy, in the August primary.

Denise Rohr was the winner in a three-way primary contest for treasurer. Currently chief deputy in the office, she succeeds Jeannie Wells, longtime treasurer, who is retiring. Jim Honey, Eastern District associate commissioner, also won a three-way primary contest.

Incumbent officeholders to be sworn in, after they were re-elected without opposition, are Darieus K. Adams, Western District associate commissioner; Connie Hoover, assessor; Angie Casavecchia, public administrator; Rob Chappel, coroner; Gayle L. Crane, Division 1 circuit judge; and David Boyce Mouton, Division 3 circuit judge.

New terms

COUNTY OFFICIALS’ new terms of office will begin on Jan. 1.

Text Only
Local News
Must Read


Given that the U.S. Supreme Court has ruled that electronic devices and communications are protected from searches and seizure without a warrant, do you think Missouri needs Amendment 9 added to its constitution?

A. Yes.
B. No.
     View Results
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter