The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

July 8, 2013

Carthage teacher among finalists selected for National Mathematics and Science Award

From staff reports

CARTHAGE, Mo. — Eight Missouri teachers, including Autumn Palmer, a high school science teacher from Carthage, have been selected as state finalists for the 2013 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

State finalists in science besides Palmer are:

- Kathleen Dwyer, high school science teacher, Maplewood-Richmond Heights High School, Maplewood.

- Carol Robertson, high school science teacher, Fulton Senior High School, Fulton.

- Christy Straatmann, middle school science teacher, Valley Park Middle School, Valley Park.

State finalists in mathematics are:

- Ruth Knop, high school mathematics teacher, Parkway West High School, Chesterfield.

- Melissa Livengood, high school mathematics teacher, Grain Valley High School, Grain Valley.

- Karen Smith, high school mathematics teacher, Truman High School, Independence.

- Lane Walker, high school mathematics teacher, Francis Howell High School, St. Charles.

The presidential awards are given annually to outstanding K-12 science and mathematics teachers from across the country. The winners are selected by a panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators following the initial selection process done at the state level. Each year, the award alternates between educators teaching kindergarten through sixth grades and those teaching seventh through 12th grades.

Teachers who are selected as for the presidential awards receive a certificate signed by President Barack Obama, a trip for two to Washington, D.C., to attend a series of recognition events and professional development opportunities, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation to use at their discretion.