The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

Local News

August 4, 2012

Jasper County commissioner challenging GOP party chair

CARTHAGE, Mo. — Though not a candidate for County Commission this year, Presiding Commissioner John Bartosh will be on an election ballot Tuesday.

Bartosh is running for the post of Republican committeeman from the Gem Precinct, challenging longtime incumbent John L. Putnam.

Putnam also is chairman of the county’s Republican Central Committee, a post he has held for about six years.

Bartosh said he is challenging the current chairman because of Putnam’s recent support for individual Republican candidates, rather than waiting to support the nominees chosen by the party.

“I think John’s a great guy, but he’s kind of a special interest guy,” he said. “I think we need someone who’s more open and for all the people.”

Putnam also has organized recent tea party rallies and is the founder of the Southwest Missouri Conservative Network.

Bartosh, as a commissioner, also has supported candidates in primary races, Putnam pointed out. He and Sheriff Archie Dunn in 2008 publicly endorsed Craig Putnam in the race for Eastern District associate commissioner. He and Craig Putnam are distant cousins, John Putnam said.

“But I’m only supporting one candidate in the primary, as an individual, not as county chairman. That’s Todd Akin, because we have worked together on issues and we have a long friendship,” he said.

U.S. . Rep. Akin is in a three-way race with St. Louis businessman John Brunner and Sarah Steelman, former state treasurer, for the GOP nomination for U.S. Senate.

Putnam said he has been a GOP committeeman since 1984.

“I’ve run our get-out-the-vote drive every election since 1996, and I’ve had other people on the committee tell me they don’t think now is the time to make a change,” he said.

Under the party structure for both Democrats and Republicans, committeemen and committeewomen serve from each voting precinct, and party officers are elected from that group. There are only five voting precincts in the county where there are races for committee posts.

Other races

There are races in four other precincts, but none involve incumbents. Candidates are Linda Uselman and Pamela Morris, for committeewoman, in Webb City 4; Victoria Myers and Tara M. Bear, committeewoman, Joplin No. 23; Doug Joyce and Ray Schell, committeeman, Rex Precinct; and Bill Birkes and Madison Blaxton, committeeman, Carterville 4.

Text Only
Local News
  • Pseudoephedrine sales in Pittsburg to require prescription

    Starting Friday, those who purchase pseudoephedrine and related products in Pittsburg will need a prescription to do so.

    July 22, 2014

  • Cherokee County Commission accepts general counsel's resignation

    Kevin Cure, who has served as general counsel for the Cherokee County Commission since 2005, submitted a handwritten resignation to the board on Monday in the aftermath of a landfill controversy.

    July 22, 2014

  • Mike Pound 2010.jpg Mike Pound: Parents can get help with school supplies

    I don’t know much about demographics other than the fact that I no longer belong to a “targeted demographic.” When I was younger, I was bombarded by commercials and ads from companies that were trying to sell me things that I not only needed but wanted.

    July 22, 2014 1 Photo

  • Jasper County Commission reviews traffic plans

    The Jasper County Commission will hold public hearings today and Thursday on a number of traffic changes proposed in the county. No one spoke when the first hearing was held Tuesday as part of the regular commission meeting, according to Jim Honey, Eastern District associate commissioner.

    July 22, 2014

  • Joplin school board reviews audit procedures

    A team from the Missouri State Auditor’s Office has begun requesting documents in its task to audit the operations and management of the Joplin School District, the audit manager told the Board of Education on Tuesday.

    July 22, 2014

  • Joplin man to stand trial in accident case

    A passenger accused of causing an accident on Interstate 44 in Joplin that injured three others as well as himself was ordered bound over for trial Tuesday on three felony counts.

    July 22, 2014

  • r072214soroptimist3.jpg Volunteers spend week providing camp experience to foster youths

    Karen McGlamery is a massage therapist. Terri Falis-Cochran is a finance manager. Jane McCaulley is a retired art teacher. But for a week each summer, the three are among dozens of area residents who become camp counselors.

    July 22, 2014 2 Photos

  • Neosho school board hires company to manage substitutes

    Citing its hopes of shifting health care costs and utilizing more time from retired teachers, the Neosho Board of Education granted a contract Monday to a temporary employee company to manage its substitute teacher program.

    July 22, 2014

  • Main Street TIF district study to begin

    A measure that allows the city to charge its $15,000 in administrative costs for studying a proposal to create a tax increment financing district on South Main Street was approved Monday by the Joplin City Council.

    July 21, 2014

  • Carthage man pleads guilty in sexual abuse case

    A Carthage man pleaded guilty Monday to sexual abuse of a 12-year-old girl in a plea agreement that would cap the length of his prison term at no more than 15 years.

    July 21, 2014

Must Read


A state lawmaker who is one of two doctors in the Oklahoma Legislature is insisting that unaccompanied immigrant minors being housed at Fort Sill be quarantined. Do you think those kinds of measures should be taken?

A. Yes.
B. No.
     View Results
Twitter Updates
Follow us on twitter