The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

June 11, 2012

List of primary candidates complete for Kansas state, federal positions

By Roger McKinney

— Candidate lists for state and federal offices in Kansas for the Aug. 7 primary election are final with a mad dash of last-minute filings Monday after Thursday’s ruling on redistricting.

The ruling by a panel of federal judges created some districts with no incumbents and other districts with two incumbents.

The list is on the Kansas secretary of state’s website.

State lawmakers failed to pass legislation adjusting the boundaries for congressional and legislative districts, so the decision was left to three judges.

In a surprise development, first-term incumbent 3rd District state Rep. Terry Calloway, R-Pittsburg, announced that he wouldn’t seek re-election. His campaign worker Michelle Hucke, of Pittsburg, is the sole Republican to file for the position.

Calloway in a news release said he couldn’t handle the hours required with the Legislature while running his business. He said by phone that the reason he waited until the filing deadline to make the announcement was because he labored over the decision until then. He said it wasn’t his intention to give Hucke an advantage in getting the Republican nomination.

“That was a decision that she made on her own,” Calloway said.

Julie Menghini, of Pittsburg, who held the position before Calloway, is the only candidate to file for the Democratic nomination.

Several have filed to fill the open 1st District Kansas House position after incumbent Doug Gatewood, D-Columbus, announced that he wouldn’t seek re-election.

Vying for the Republican nomination are Brad Bolin, of rural Baxter Springs; Lance Nichols, of Galena; and Mike Houser, of Columbus.

The winner of the Republican primary will face Democrat Grant Randall, of rural Baxter Springs, in November.

The November general election ballot also is set for the 2nd District Kansas House race, with incumbent Democrat Bob Grant, of Frontenac, vying against Republican Jeff Locke, of Arma.

Incumbent Republican Bob Marshall, of Fort Scott, will face Jacob LaTurner, of Pittsburg, for the Republican nomination for the reconfigured 13th District Kansas Senate position.

Gene Garman, of Pittsburg, was the only candidate to file for the Democratic nomination.

The district now includes just the southern portion of Bourbon County, Marshall’s home county, plus Cherokee and Crawford counties and Chetopa in Labette County.

Three Democrats have filed for their party’s nomination for the 2nd District U.S. House of Representatives position. They are Robert Eye, of Lawrence; Tobias Schlingensiepen, of Topeka; and Scott Barnhart, of Ottawa. The winner will face incumbent Republican Lynn Jenkins, of Topeka, in November.

New 15th Senate District

ANOTHER CHANGE in the redistricting map places two incumbent Republican state senators — Dwayne Umbarger, of Thayer, and Jeff King, of Independence — in the new 15th Senate District. Umbarger’s previous district, the 14th, took in part of Cherokee County, including the towns of Columbus, Baxter Springs and Treece.