The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

February 22, 2013

Joplin chamber announces teacher award nominees

From staff reports

— Fifty-nine Joplin educators have been nominated for the 28th annual Golden Apple Awards, according to the Joplin Area Chamber of Commerce.

The Golden Apple Awards recognize excellence in the teaching profession. Individuals are nominated by students, parents and peers in Joplin public and private schools.

Awards will be given to one educator in each of the following categories: Kindergarten through second grade, third through fifth grade, sixth through eighth grade, and ninth through 12th grade. They will be announced at the chamber’s annual banquet, which is scheduled for April 25.

The nominees for kindergarten through second grade are: Heather Anderson, Stephanie Reither and Erin Snodgrass, Cecil Floyd; Cecile Brown, McKinley Elementary; Elizabeth Christian, Martin Luther School; Casey Darnell, Stapleton; Holly Davis and Brenda Olds, Duenweg/Duquesne; Karen Drake and Bette Schoeberl, St. Mary’s; Rebecca Emery, College Heights; KyLeigh Garrett and Stacie Hayes, Eastmorland; Carmi Hinman and Susan Moore, Irving; Joanne Lown, Thomas Jefferson; Chelsea Marshall, Lora Seward and Mary Sloan, Royal Heights; Katie Millard, Kelsey Norman; and Kerri Rea and Jennifer Williams, Columbia.

The nominees for third through fifth grade are: Heidi Avery, Cherie Kuklentz, Emily Mullins and Brianna Brown, Royal Heights; Susie Bradley, John Wilcox and Jennifer Fuller, West Central; Jan Bradshaw, Thomas Jefferson; Kelly Davis, James Hudspeth and Laura Freeman, McKinley; Kyle Graves and Sara Hoeppner, Eastmorland; Savannah Johnston, Irving; Christi Kinder, College Heights; Emily Lone and Debi Staton, St. Mary’s; Kelly Miller, Emerson; Jeremy O’Ferrell, Kristi Warden and Karen Robertson, Stapleton; Kevin Sadler, Eastmorland; and Jennifer Sherrod, Kelsey Norman.

The nominees for sixth through eighth grade are: John Atteberry, Nate Kinast and Justin Kleinheider, Thomas Jefferson; Karen Cameron, Zachary Fruits and Nicole Peters, South Middle School; Kalan Hubbard and Sara Reineke, North Middle School; and Nick Moore and Julie Yonkers, East Middle School.

The nominees for ninth through 12th grade are: Janina Eads and Clarence Shelton, Thomas Jefferson; and Jessica Low and Kelly Pyle, Joplin High School.


All of this year’s nominees for the Golden Apple Awards, as well as the individuals who nominated them, will be honored at a reception at 6 p.m. Thursday in the ballroom at Holiday Inn.