The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

National News

July 19, 2012

Kan. among 6 states, DC granted education waivers

TOPEKA, Kan. — Kansas is among the latest states granted waivers from key provisions of the Bush-era No Child Left Behind law.

The Education Department announced Thursday that Kansas joined Arizona, Michigan, Mississippi, Oregon and South Carolina, along with Washington, D.C., in being exempt from some of the law’s most rigorous requirements.  

A total of 32 states have now been granted waivers; four others have outstanding requests.

After Congress failed to change the law, President Barack Obama told states last fall they could seek a waiver from an unpopular requirement that all students test proficient in math and reading by 2014. To get waivers, states must take actions the Obama administration favors.

Kansas Education Commissioner Diane DeBacker said in a news release that she is “extremely pleased” with the state’s plan.


Text Only
National News