The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

Pittsburg State Sports

March 28, 2012

MSSU, PSU championship teams included in new MIAA Hall of Fame class

NCAA Division II national championship teams from Missouri Southern and Pittsburg State are among the MIAA’s 2012 Hall of Fame class.

The Lions’ 1992 softball team and the Gorillas’ 1991 football team are being honored along with three more national champions from the league — Central Missouri baseball in 1994 and Northwest Missouri State football in 1998 and 1999.

In addition, Pittsburg State running back Ronald Moore and distance runner Christie Allen Logue will be inducted along with 10 more individuals.

Induction ceremonies are scheduled at 7 p.m. on June 7 at the Downtown Marriott in Kansas City, Mo. Tickets are $40 apiece and can be reserved online at

Missouri Southern’s softball team, coached by Pat Lipira, posted a 50-7 record and did not lose a game in the postseason, going 4-0 in the MIAA Postseason Tournament and 3-0 in both the Midwest Regional at MSSU and the national tournament in Kansas City. The Lions won their national tournament games 8-1 over Saginaw Valley State, 1-0 over Bloomsburg and 1-0 over Cal State-Hayward.

The Gorillas went 13-1-1 in 1991 and won their final 11 games of the season, capped by a 23-6 victory over Jacksonville State to become the first MIAA school to win a football national title.

Moore was a junior on the 1991 team and won the Harlon Hill Award his senior season the top player in Division II. Moore finished his career with 4,299 rushing yards and 52 touchdowns.

Logue ran for PSU from 1989-93 and was an eight-time All-American in track and cross country. She was named Division II Woman Athlete of the Year in 1993.

Other hall of fame inductees, listed by school:

Central Missouri — Jim Crane was a pitcher from 1973-75 and had a career 21-8 record and 2.42 earned run average. He became owner of the Houston Astros in November 2011. Bill Fennelly played basketball from 1977-81 and is the conference’s career scoring leader with 2,819 points. Rosie Jones helped the Jennies to three consecutive basketball Final Fours in the mid-1980s, highlighted by the 1984 championship run. Tad Reid was 178-110 as the Mules’ men’s basketball coach from 1923-38 and directed national championship teams in 1937 and 1938.

Emporia State — Emily Bloss Carpenter had 1,915 points and 823 rebounds for the Lady Hornets from 1997-2001 and received four national student-athlete of the year awards. Deandra Doubrava McBride is a two-time national champion and 14-time All-American from 1994-99. She was named D-II Women’s Track Athlete of the Year in 1999.

Truman State — Walter Ryle served as athletics director and faculty athletics representative during his tenure from 1955099. He was president of the MIAA during the league’s biggest expansion period from 1988-91.Ed Schneider won the 1964 cross country national championship and was a three-time All-American for the Bulldogs from 1961-64. He later coached the Bulldogs from 1974-2005.

Northwest Missouri — Quarterback Chris Greisen was a two-time All-American and directed the Bearcats to a 15-0 record his senior year in 1998.

Officials — Bill Lowe officiated league basketball and football games for 18 years and served as the conference director of football officials from 1990-2007.

Text Only
Pittsburg State Sports