The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

June 15, 2012

Drake duo among points leaders at Springfield Raceway

By Anvil Welch
Globe Sports Writer

— The Webb City Drakes — dad Scott and son Trevor — are among the points leaders entering tonight’s Mid-Season Championships at Springfield Raceway.

It’s Round 8 of the Transport Graphics Championship Chase at the quarter-mile dirt track.

Scott Drake leads the USRA B modified class with 629 points. Reeds Spring’s Mike Hailmann and Webb City’s Keleb Copher are 2-3 with 617 and 582, respectively.

Trevor Drake is atop the Midwest Modz class with 164 points to 129 by Bois D’Arc’s Taylor Moore.

Hailmann is the Legends Cars leader with 145. Joplin’s Justin Comer is only 3 points behind.

Carthage’s Jackie Dalton and Webb City’s Mitch Keeter are 1-2 in USRA modified with 605 and 598, respectively. John Yeoman, Joplin, is third with 563.

Completing the leaders, also from southwest Missouri, are Springfield’s Jim Reid (street stock), Ava’s Jack Hamer (pure stock) and Nixa’s Wesley Smith (Legends Young Lions).

Area Oklahoma drivers are among the leaders in several classes. Miami’s Wayne Morris is second in street stock, Miami’s Brett Testerman and Tyler Thulin are 2-3 in pure stock and Quapaw’s Caleb McDugle is fourth in Legends Cars.

The USRA modified and USRA B modified drivers are striving for extra money by placing in national competition. Scott Drake is a current national leader

Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 6 and races at 7. Admission prices are $12 and $5 (ages 6-12).

Dream 100

ROSSBURG, Ohio — Shane Clanton, Fayetteville, Ga., led all 100 laps in winning the 18th annual event last Saturday night at Eldora Speedway.

The win, of course, netted the 46-year-old Clanton $100,000. Placing second through fifth were John Blankenship (Williamson, W. Va.), Darrell Lanigan (Union, Ky.), Steve Francis (Ashland, Ky..) and Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, Ill.).

Billy Moyer, Batesville, Ark., and Terry Phillips, Springfield, finished ninth and 15th, respectively.

Phillips has won seven modified A features this season and the last win — the Doug Murphrey Memorial on June 2 at Ark-La-Tex Speedway in Vivian, Miss. — was worth $10,000.

Monett Speedway

MONETT, Mo. — The Oil Capital Racing Series sprint cars visit the 3/8-mile clay track on Sunday night.

Support classes on the 7:30 p.m. program are B modified, factory stock, pure stock and pro-4.

Admission prices are $15 and $5. A pit pass is $30.