The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

November 15, 2012

Men's cross country regional notebook

From staff reports

— Atlantic Region

Team qualifiers: Edinboro 34, East Stroudsburg 95, Lock Haven 95

Individual leaders: 1, Alex Monroe, Lock Haven, jr., 30:41. 2, Frank Fezza, East Stroudsburg, sr., 30:43. 3, Bryan Deibel, Edinboro, jr., 30:59. 4, Matt Gillette, Shippensburg, sr., 31:07. 5, Stewart Jones, Wheeling Jesuit, sr., 31:20.

2011 NCAA: Edinboro 12th and Lock Haven 16th in team standings. … Monroe finished 10th in individual standings.

Notes: Edinboro placed six runners among top 11 in regional, and all seven runners earned all-region honors. … Edinboro has won two straight regional titles and 22 in school history. … East Stroudsburg has qualified its team for the first time since 1989. … Alex Monroe has won regional title two straight years.

Central Region

Team qualifiers: Augustana 31, Missouri Southern 98, Minnesota State-Mankato 108, Southwest Baptist 116

Individual leaders: 1, Travis Beniak, Augustana, jr., 29:57. 2, Adam Braun, Augustana, soph., 30:10. 3, Cory Keehn, Fort Hays St., soph., 30:22. 4, Phillip Miller, Southwest Baptist, sr., 30:24. 5, Eric Schott, Missouri Southern, soph., 30:27.

Missouri Southern qualifiers: 5, Eric Schott, soph., 30:27. 13, Jacob Benton, jr., 30:43. 19, Adrian Todd, soph., 30:52. 26, Andrew Webster, soph., 31:01. 40, Colton Wooldridge, soph., 31:25. 94, Ryan Jackson, fr., 32:57. 140, Nick Niggemann, jr., 34:46.

2011 NCAA: Augustana was sixth in the team standings, and the Vikings’ Paul Yak and Ryan Evans placed 11th and 32nd, respectively, in the individual standings.

Notes:  Keehn, Miller and Schott finished 1-2-3 in the MIAA Championships. ... Missouri Southern has qualified for the first time since it made four straight trips from 2006-09, taking 11th place in 2009 and 12th in 2007. Lions also qualified from 2002-04, placing seventh in 2002. ... Trenton Morris, sophomore who prepped at College Heights Christian School, was eighth in regional to help Southwest Baptist qualify a team for the second time in school history. ... Augustana had five of the top 11 runners in regional and six among the top 17. ... Augustana has finished sixth in the last two national meets. ... Minnesota State is making its first appearance since it was eighth in 2008

East Region

Team qualifiers:American International 48, Bentley 64, Stonehill 84

Individual leaders: 1, Jeff Veiga, Mass.-Lowell, sr., 28:53. 2, Mike Biwott, American International, fr., 29:16. 3, Glarius Rop, American-International, sr., 29:28. 4, Andrew Coehlo, Alelphi, sr., 29:45. 5, Rob Dextradeur, Bentley, sr., 30:12.

2011 NCAA: Stonehill was 21st in the team standings. … Rop was 17th and Coelho 29th in the individual standings.

Notes: Veiga also won regional title in 2010 and took third in NCAA but redshirted last year because of injury. … American International is making its first NCAA appearance in the program’s seven-year existence. … Stonehill, the regional and Northeast-10 Conference winner the last two years, is making its 10thh straight NCAA appearance. … Massachusetts-Lowell did not qualify its team for the first time since 1999.

Midwest Regional

Team qualifiers: Grand Valley State 62, Ashland 92, Ferris State 103, Southern Indiana 124, Cedarville 124.

Individual leaders: 1, Matt Brooker, Cedarville, sr., 30:35. 2, Michael Jordan, Southern Indiana, sr., 31:03. 3, Andrew Mclain, Lewis, jr., 31:09. 4, Joshua Mirth, Hillsdale, soph., 31:12. 5, Evan Lewandowski, Wis.-Parkside, jr., 31:20.

2011 NCAA: Grand Valley State was third, Southern Indiana seventh and Ashland 13th in the team standings. ... Jordan was 21st in the individual standings.

Notes: The regional title was Grand Valley State’s 11th in a row. ... Brooker sat out last season as a redshirt. ... Mclain is the first runner from Lewis to qualify for nationals since 2006.

South Regional

Team qualifiers: Nova Southeastern 81, Alabama-Huntsville 96, Florida Tech 116.

Individual leaders: 1, Blaise Binns, Alabama-Huntsville, soph., 31:39. 2, Moses Kirui, Florida Tech, sr., 31:47. 3, Chris Cacciapaglia, Florida Tech, sr., 32:01. 4, Jose Ortega, Alabama-Huntsville, soph., 32:12. 5, Carl Dunne, Saint Leo, fr., 32:12.

2011 NCAA: Alabama-Huntsville was 23rd in the team standings.

Notes: Nova Southeastern’s squad is the first male team in school history to win a South Region title. ... Cacciapaglia was named the runner of the year in the Sunshine State Conference.

South Central Region

Team qualifiers: Adams State 26, Western State 58, Colorado Mines 75, Colorado-Colorado Springs 118, Eastern New Mexico 174, Fort Lewis 178

Individual Leaders: 1, Kevin Batt, Adams State, fr., 32:07. 2, Isaiah Samoei, Eastern New Mexico, sr., 32:10. 3, Ian Butler, Western State, soph., 32:15. 4, Matt Daniels, Adams State, soph., 32:20. 5, Jovanny Godinez, Adams State, jr., 32:25.

2011 NCAA: Western State and Adams State were 1-2 in the team standings, and Colorado Mines was fifth. Also, Eastern New Mexico was 15th and Colorado-Colorado Springs 19th. … Tabor Stevens of Adams State was sixth, Trevor Blackman of Western State 13th, Derek Alcorn of Colorado Mines 28, Adam Sinda of Western State 30, Russell Drummond of Colorado Mines 33, Andrew Roberts of Adams State 40, Andrew Epperson of Colorado Mines 43 and Mike English of Colorado-Colorado Springs 47.

Notes: Tabor Stevens of Adams State did not run in the regional after winning the RMAC title two weeks earlier. He is the second-highest returning finisher from last year. … Isaiah Samoei of Eastern New Mexico has won the Lone Star Conference and finished second in regional the last two years. … Adams State placed four runners in the top six in regional and six in the top 12. … Adams State won its fifth straight regional title and 10th overall; it has qualified for national meet in all 21 years as a Division II school. …  Western State has won eight D-2 titles. … Colorado Mines has qualified for eighth straight NCAA meet.

Southeast Region

Team entries: Columbus State 63, Mount Olive 77, King 91.

Individual leaders: 1, Pardon Ndhlovu, UNC-Pembroke, sr., 31:19. 2, Spencer Frantom, King, jr., 31:50. 3, Jordan Noe, King, soph., 31:56. 4, Jaiden Brandt, Augusta State, jr., 31:57. 5, Alex Griggs, Mars Hill, fr., 32:00.

2011 NCAA: Mount Olive was 22nd in the team standings.

Notes: King College’s mascot is Tornado. ... Ndhlovu was the only Division II runner at the NCAA Division I Pre-National meet in Louisville and finished third. ... Columbus State won its first regional cross country team championship by placing four runners among the top 15. ...

West Region

Team qualifiers: Chico State 38, Alaska Anchorage 46, Western Washington 82, San Francisco State 130, Humboldt State 140.

Individual leaders: 1, Micah Chelimo, Alaska Anchorage, sr., 31:58. 2, Adrian Sherrod, Chico State, jr., 32:02. 3, Alfonso Cisneros, Chico State, jr., 32:06. 4, Isaac Chavez, Chico State, jr., 32:07. 5, Dak Riek, Western Washington, jr., 32:10.

2011 NCAA: Chico State was fourth, Alaska Anchorage eighth and Western Washington 10th in the team standings. ... Chavez was third, Chelimo 15th and Sherrod 19th in the individual standings. Chico State’s Johnny Sanchez and Dayne Gradeone also return after placing 34th and 35th, respectively.

Notes: Chico State, with six runners among the top 21, captured its ninth regional title in 11 years. ... The Seawolves of Alaska-Anchorage had five runners in the top 14 and all seven in the top 25 but only one in the top nine. ... The Seawolves’ Micah Clelimo is two-time regional winner and has won eight of his nine races during the last two years. ... Western Washington is making its sixth straight appearance at nationals and has finished in the top 10 in the last four years, including fourth in 2009.