The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

February 10, 2013

Neosho wins district, 9 individual titles

From staff reports

WILLARD, Mo. —  Nine Neosho wrestlers won district championships as the Wildcats dominated the Class 3, District 3 tournament Saturday.

Neosho, ranked No. 2 in Class 3, claimed the team trophy with 300 points. Carthage was second with 168 points and Lebanon was third.

Neosho’s Sam Williams, who has missed most of the season because of an injury, returned to the Wildcats’ lineup and defeated Nick Koon of Carl Junction 3-1 in sudden victory for the title at 152 pounds.

Other district champions for Neosho are Kyler Rea at 106, River Buttram at 120, Dakota McGarrah at 126, Nate Rodriguez at 132, Kyle Hostetter at 145, Jacob Brock at 182, Christian Lopez at 220.

Lopez defeated previously unbeaten and No. 1-ranked Jordan Moffett of McDonald County 3-1 in the championship match.

Webb City advanced three wrestlers to the state tournament, including Brayden Goff, who pinned Chance Branstetter of Neosho in the first period for the title at 160 pounds.

Webb City’s other qualifiers are Alex Lane, who was runner-up at 170 after a sudden-victory win in the semifinals, and Tony Carranco, who was third at 285.

Trevor Feagans of Carthage won the championship at 138 pounds with a major decision against Cody Sandridge of Republic and will lead eight Tigers to the state tournament.

Moffett and Jacob Dalton at 145 were runners-up for McDonald County, which will send four wrestlers to the state tournament.