The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


July 5, 2013

'Fastest man' contest does not involve race cars

It’s been said stock car racing promoters will try just about anything.

Springfield Raceway officials tonight will hold a race — which apparently has nothing to do with race cars — called the “Fastest Man in the Ozarks.”

Contestants will tackle one lap around the quarter-mile dirt race with the winner pocketing $100.

Springfield News-Leader columnist Lyndal Scranton penned the track is putting a new twist on “racing.”

Entry fee is $1. Entrants must be 18 years or older.

We don’t know which owner is to blame — Springfield’s Doug Bland or Oronogo’s Jerry Hoffman — for the event.

Said Hoffman on Friday: “We did get about 20 runners the last time we held it. It was rained out last year. I believe Donald Luna (a driver from St. James) won the inaugural race.”

Hoffman, incidentally, is becoming wealthy from his success as a driver.

Hoffman won $600 at the Humboldt Speedway on Wednesday night by claiming the B modified A feature. It was his sixth main event victory of the season.

Springfield’s Jeremy Payne won the modified A feature worth $2,000.

Points leaders entering today’s 7 p.m. program at Springfield Raceway are Jackie Dalton (modified), Daniel Deason (street stock), J.C. Morton (B modified), Jay Reynolds (Legends Cars), Taylor Moore (Midwest Modz) and David Moellering (pure stock).

Moellering leads Jack Hamer by a point. Reynolds leads Mike Hailmann by 3.

Monett Speedway

MONETT, Mo. — Two Joplin drivers were among the support class A feature winners on Wednesday night during the late model MARS/NCRA Challenge.

John Coats won the factory stock main event and Rick McNally won in pure stock.

Other winners: Shawn Strong (B modified) and Dusty Schmidt (pro-4).

Racing resumes next Friday night at the 3/8-mile clay track.

Nevada Speedway

NEVADA, Mo. — The winner of tonight’s modified A feature will receive $1,500.

The 8 p.m. program — gates open at 5:30 p.m. — at the quarter-mile dirt track also will have fireworks at intermission.

Top two drivers in modified points at the track are Kevin Morrow (805) of Bronaugh and Dustin Wyland (707) of Mulberry, Kan.

Completing the points leaders are Matthew Hendren (pure stock), Matthew Rose (B modified), Trevor Vann (factory stock) and William Self (mini stock).

Tony Jackson Jr. again

PARK CITY, Kan. — Jackson, Lebanon, won the late model A feature on Thursday night at 81 Speedway during the MARS/NCRA Challenge.

Trailing Jackson, who leads MARS points, were Ryan Gustin (Marshalltown, Iowa), Jesse Stovall (Billings), Terry Phillips (Springfield) and Chase Junghans (Manhattan, Kan.).

MARS finishes two nights of shows tonight at West Siloam Speedway in Colcord, Okla. Gates open at 4 p.m. with racing at 7.

Lucas Oil Speedway

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Nevada’s Jon Sheets leads USRA modified points by 2 entering tonight’s Midseason Championships at the track.

Gates open at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 7 and racing at 7:30.

Republic’s Payton Looney, who leads the rookies in the ULMA late model standings, is third overall.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports