The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


December 5, 2012

Champions Webb City, Lamar top area all-state selections

State champions Webb City and Lamar combined to place 15 players on the Missouri media’s all-state teams in their respective classes.

The Webb City Cardinals, who are coming off their third consecutive Class 4 state championship, had eight players named Class 4 all-state. Quarterback John Roderique, running back Phoenix Johnson, receiver Kohl Slaughter, offensive lineman Seth Watkins, kicker Alex Easley, linebacker Dalton Humphrey and defensive back Nate Brown all were given first team honors. Defensive lineman Jose Speer made the second team.

The Lamar Tigers, who have won two straight Class 2 state titles, placed seven players. Quarterback Levi Petersen, running back Jared Beshore, offensive lineman Austin Boice and linebacker Jade Morgan received first team honors. Offensive lineman Ben Bailey, defensive lineman Sam Bailey and linebacker Chad Rice were all named to the second team.

Several other area athletes were named all-state in their respective classes.

Joplin Eagles running back Chris Payton-Barba was named Class 6 second team.

In Class 4, Nevada offensive lineman Sam Ellifrits was named first team, while Carthage running back Seth Beckner and offensive lineman Oliver Sprenkle made the second team.

Monett receiver Kurran Blamey, Mount Vernon defensive back Shane Williams, Cassville linebacker Hayden Prater and Cassville kicker Bradley Lueckenhoff made Class 3’s first team, while Monett running back Aaron Hall, Monett defensive lineman Reese Bounous and Cassville punter Stone Phelps were second teamers.

Class 1 first teamers included Miller offensive lineman Kyle Davidson, Miller defensive lineman Jacob Lundquist and Pierce City defensive back Cedric O’Hara. Miller linebacker Brendan Richardson was named to the second team.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports