The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


January 3, 2014

Mike Clark named to Ozarks racers hall of fame

The late Mike Clark is in the latest class of the Ozarks Area Racers Association Hall of Fame.

Clark was owner of Walker (Mo.)-based Dirt Works Race Cars for some 25 years after buying the business from Kelly Bremer of Monett.

Clark, a Nevada native, graduated from Walker High School in 1970. He was just 57 when he died on Oct. 9, 2009, at Nevada Regional Medical Center after a sudden illness.

Jerry Hoffman, Hoffman Race Cars, Oronogo, reminded Thursday that Clark drove competitively before turning to the building of modifieds.

Hoffman, co-owner of Springfield Raceway, eventually bought Dirt Works from Kevin Morrow of Bronaugh.

Induction ceremonies will be held Saturday at the Ozark Empire Fairgrounds E Plex. Tickets at the door are $20 for the 6 p.m. banquet.

Clark will enter as a Pioneer (contributions to the sport off the track) with Louis Gotschall, Don and Billie Gibson and Stanley Shobe.

 Legends (those making their mark as drivers) receiving recognition are George Baxter, Tommy Joe Pauschert, Bob Tegarden and Wayne Woody.

Monett Speedway

Sportsmanship was rewarded during the recent postseason banquet at the Monett City Park Casino.

Sportsmanship winners were Darrell Mooneyham (DLRA late model), Jackie Dalton (USRA A modified), Don Lacey (pro-4), J.C. Morton (USRA B modified), Garrett Cantrell (pure stock) and Mike Bitner (factory stock).

Rookies of the year were Garrett Essary (late model), Justin Mitchell (A modified), Holly Brown (pro-4), Aaron Scroggins (B modified), Austin Powell (pure stock) and Clayton Powell (factory stock).

Points champions at the 3/8-mile clay track were Ken Essary (late model), Mitch Keeter (A modified), Theresa Widener (pro-4), Toby Thompson (B modified), Rick McNally (pure stock) and Josh Essary (factory stock).

Springfield Raceway

Terry Phillips, Jesse Stovall and Shawn Strong won main events in the recent weather-delayed Turkey Bowl at the quarter-mile dirt track.

Co-owner Jerry Hoffman said the event attracted an estimated 125 race cars.

Strong, Republic, won the B modified A feature at the expense of Webb City’s Trevor Drake. Scott Drake, Trevor’s dad, placed sixth.

Stovall, Billings, won the late model A feature by beating Springfield’s Phillips. Completing the top five were Brandon McCormick, Justin Asplin and Jeff Roth.

Phillips relegated Stovall to runner-up in the A modified main event. Rounding out the top five were Jamie Ragland, Jackie Dalton and Jim Body.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports