The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


July 28, 2012

Jackie Dalton leads close modified points battle at Monett Speedway

Carthage’s Jackie Dalton is tied for the lead in USRA modified points at the Monett Speedway.

Dalton and defending champion Johnny Bone Jr. of Pea Ridge (Ark.) have 511 apiece entering tonight’s stock car racing program at the 3/8-mile clay track.

It isn’t a two-man race, either, as Brent Holman of Rogers (Ark.) is third with 504 and Bobby Pearish of Oronogo is fourth with 501. Joplin’s Dairan Hendrix rounds out the top five drivers with 467.

Bone bested Dalton 999-883 for the title in 2011. Hendrix was third with 857 and Brian Green of Pierce City was fourth with 820.

Aurora drivers Justin Wells and Shane Essary are 1-2 in DLRA late model points with 652 and 587, respectively.

Springfield’s J.C. Morton, whose parents Melissa and Gene Morton once were helpful/personable workers at defunct Joplin 66 Speedway, is atop the USRA B modified standings with 833. Michael Maggard is second with 776.

Joplin’s John Coats is the factory stock points leader with 714. Crane’s Garrett Essary is runner-up with 672.

Completing the leaders are Kyle Lebow (Midwest Modz), Rick McNally (pure stock) and Lonnie Muhlbauer (pro-4).

Gates open today at 5 p.m. with hot laps at 7 and racing at 7:30. Admission prices are $12 and $5. A pit pass is $25.

Jesse Stovall triumphs

HUMBOLDT, Kan. — Stovall, Galena, Mo., won the 30-lap Lucas Oil MLRA main event at the Humboldt Speedway on Friday night.

Points leader John Anderson (Omaha, Neb.) placed second to Stovall.

Completing the top five in the A feature were Brad Looney (Republic), Will Vaught (Crane) and Justin Wells (Aurora).

Joplin’s Steve Johnson finished 18th among 22 cars.

Wells, Stovall and Looney won heat races.

POWRi National Midget Series

BELOIT, Kan. — Carl Junction’s Andrew Felker placed 22nd in the Lucas Oil-sponsored main event during the third Chad McDaniel Memorial on Friday night at the Solomon Valley Raceway.

Felker entered the weekend No. 1 in points in the National Midget Series and the POWRi Lucas Oil West Series.

Scott Hatton, Roscoe, Ill., won the 30-lapper on the 1/5-mile dirt oval by beating Zach Daumof Pocahontas, Ill. Hatton earned $3,000.

The three-track swing concludes tonight at US 35 Raceway in Cameron, Mo.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports