The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

June 15, 2013

Mechanics to race at Springfield track

By Anvil Welch
Globe Sports Writer

— Mechanics get their turn tonight at Springfield Raceway.

Jerry Hoffman, co-owner of the quarter-mile dirt track, said Friday that two divisions of mechanics will compete after the finish of the regular 7 p.m. program.

Carthage’s Jackie Dalton, bidding for another points championship in the modified class, leads Oronogo’s Bobby Pearish 385-341. Michael Maggard, Republic, is third with 334.

Top two in the B modified division are Springfield’s J.C. Morton (391) and Granby’s Jon Yeoman (354). Bobby Maggard Jr., another Republic driver, is third with 318.

Pearish and Dalton finished 1-2 in the modified main event last Saturday night. Springfield’s Darrin Crisler beat Yeoman in the B modified A feature.

Completing the leaders are Daniel Deason, Bolivar, street stock; Jay Reynolds, Springfield, Legends Cars; Taylor Moore, Bois D’Arc, Midwest Modz, and Josh Bell, Willard, pure stock.

Admission prices tonight are $12 and $5 (ages 6-12). A pit pass is $25. Pit gates open at 3:30 p.m. and the grandstand at 5. Hot laps are set for 6.

Nevada Speedway

NEVADA, Mo. — An appearance by the Midwest Outlaw Vintage Racers will spice today’s 8 p.m. show at the quarter-mile dirt track.

Regular classes are modified, B modified, factory stock, pure stock and mini stock. Gates open at 5:30 with hot laps scheduled for 7:15. Admission prices are $12 and $6 (ages 6-11). A pit pass is $30.

John Allen, Chanute, won the modified A feature — worth $1,000 — last week.

Tyler Kidwell, also of Chanute, won the B modified main event.

Rounding out the A feature winners were Matthew Hendren, Nevada, pure stock; Trevor Vann, Fort Scott, factory stock, and Greg Hunt, Flemington, Mo., mini stock.

Eldora Speedway

ROSSBURG, Ohio — Scott Bloomquist won his sixth dirt late model Dream 100 last Saturday night.

Bloomquist, Mooresburg, Tenn., led the final 36 laps for the $100,000 victory. Bloomquist beat Dennis Erb Jr., Carpentersville, Ill., and Brian Birkhofer, Muscatine, Iowa.

Springfield’s Terry Phillips finished 10th to earn $2,475. Phillips started 23rd.


The sprint car Oil Capital Racing Series, which visited the Monett Speedway on Friday night, is scheduled to compete tonight at the Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla., near Fort Smith. Racing starts at 7:30. ... Tony Jackson Jr., Lebanon, won two late model main events last Friday and Saturday nights at the third COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Rockabilly at NEA Speedway in Harrisburg, Ark. Jackson pocketed $1,500 and $3,000, respectively.