The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


December 10, 2013

Southwest Missouri well represented on all-state list

Webb City, Lamar, Seneca lead football honors

— Southwest Missouri was well represented in the Show-Me Bowl with three teams advancing to state championship games at the Edward Jones Dome in St. Louis.

In turn, Southwest Missouri’s players and coaches also were well represented for all-state picks selected by a statewide panel of media members.

The Webb City Cardinals, who won their fourth consecutive state title, had seven players named to the Class 4 all-state team.

The Lamar Tigers, who won their third consecutive state title, had nine players named to the Class 2 all-state team.

Five players from the Seneca Indians, who finished as the state runner-up, were named Class 3 all-state.

Webb City’s senior running back Trey Parra (5-9, 170), senior offensive lineman Jordan Green (6-2, 270), senior linebacker Hunter Rhea (5-11, 180) and junior defensive back Kiante Hardin (5-11, 165) received first-team honors. Offensive linemen James Fowler (6-1, 220) and Tony Carranco (6-0, 275) and junior defensive lineman Taylor Auterburn (6-1, 240) received second-team honors for the Cardinals. Webb City’s John Roderique received coach of the year honors in Class 4.

Several other area players also were honored in Class 4. Carl Junction senior wide receiver Matt Magee (6-0, 170) and Carthage senior wide receiver E.J. Morgan (6-2, 175) were named first team. Carl Junction senior quarterback Dustin Satterlee (6-0, 160) was selected second-team all-purpose, and Carl Junction senior Alex McMullen (5-10, 195) was picked as a second-team linebacker.

Lamar’s senior quarterback Levi Petersen (6-1, 210), senior running back Jared Beshore (6-0, 194), offensive linemen Ben Bailey (6-7, 232) and Trenton Mooney (6-4, 240) and defensive linemen Sam Bailey (6-6, 252) and J.R. Rice (6-1, 225) were named first-team Class 2. Junior offensive lineman Angus Sprenkle (6-0, 250), senior defensive lineman Brandon Eaves (6-0, 205) and senior linebacker Landon Compton (6-3, 185) received second-team honors. Lamar’s Scott Bailey was named coach of the year.

Sarcoxie senior offensive lineman Garett Triplett (6-3, 210) was named to the first team in Class 2.

For Seneca, senior quarterback Payton Rawlins (6-1, 210), senior running back Braxton Graham (5-9, 175) and senior offensive lineman Mac Yust (6-2, 250) were named to the Class 3 first team. Senior wide receiver Chance Smith (6-2, 180) and senior linebacker Dalan Merriman (6-1, 179) were named to the second team.

Cassville senior linebacker Hayden Prater (5-11, 195) and Aurora senior running back William Blankenship (5-10, 159) also were picked for the Class 3 second team.

Joplin senior kicker Brock Renken (6-2, 180) was named first team in Class 6.

Jasper’s senior running back Payton Smith (6-0. 170) and senior defensive back Colton Sweeney (5-7, 155) were named to the Class 1 second team. McAuley Catholic senior wide receiver Cole Lowry (5-10, 170) and Liberal senior punter Garrett Miller (6-2, 190) also were named to the Class 1 second team.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports

Pittsburg State Sports