The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


October 2, 2012

Jackie Dalton claims modified special at Springfield Raceway

Carthage’s Jackie Dalton, who claimed his sixth modified points championship at the Springfield Raceway earlier this season, won the USRA modified main event at the track last Saturday night.

The special at the quarter-mile dirt track, which attracted more than 110 race teams, awarded national points in both USRA modified and USRA B modified classes.

Dalton, who had the pole position after the top 8 redraw, wound up beating Robbie Bryant of Willard and Mitch Keeter of Webb City in the 20-lap A feature.

Top three finishers in the B modified main event were Springfield’s J.C. Morton, Webb City’s Trevor Drake and Sparta’s Stephen Muilenburg. Season champion Scott Drake, Trevor’s dad, finished 15th.

Completing the A feature winners were Springfield’s Steve Moore, Midwest Modz; Nixa’s Wesley Smith, Legends Cars Young Lions; Miami’s Jeremy Thulin, pure stock, and Clever’s Darrin Crisler, factory/street stock.

Races continue at 6 p.m. on Saturday with the Budweiser-sponsored ASCS 360 Winged Sprint Cars. Other classes: USRA modified, USRA B modified, Midwest Modz, pure stock and factory/street stock.

Andrew Felker solid

MACON, Ill. — Felker, Carl Junction, finished fifth in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series 30-lap main event last Saturday night at the Macon Speedway.

Felker leads Brett Anderson for the points title by 170 points entering Saturday’s final event of the campaign at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill. Felker needs to finish 17th.

“We played it a little conservatively on our setup and it bit us,” Felker told Tim Tuttle, POWRi Racing media director, “I can’t complain about that. We had the ball in our court when Anderson and I were running first and second and that was fun. I drove smart.”

Tyler Thomas, 16, Collinsville, Okla., won the main event. Anderson, Belleville, was runner-up.

Lucas Oil Speedway

WHEATLAND, Mo. — Brady Bacon won the A features in WARS Sprints and Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV during the Jesse Hockett/Daniel McMillin Memorial last Friday night.

Saturday night winners were Jason Johnson (ASCS) and Josh Stephens (WARS).

Johnson, who finished seventh in Friday’s main event, won the inaugural Hockett/McMillin at Lucas Oil Speedway last season.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports