The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

May 6, 2012

Pearish wins at Springfield

By Anvil Welch
Globe Sports Writer

— Bobby Pearish, 10th in USRA modified points last season at Springfield Raceway, won the A feature at the quarter-mile dirt track on Saturday night.

Pearish, Oronogo, beat Billings veteran Rex Merritt. Placing third through sixth in the main event were John Yeoman III of Granby, Jackie Dalton of Carthage, Dairan Hendrix of Joplin and Mitch Keeter of Webb City.

Dalton and Keeter were points champions in 2011 and 2010, respectively.

Pearish defeated Keeter in the third heat race after Yeoman and Dalton prevailed in the first and second heat races, respectively.

Springfield’s Brandon Maggard bested Webb City’s Scott Drake in the USRA B modified A feature.

Trevor Drake, Scott’s son, placed runner-up to Ozark’s Charlie Gentile in the Midwest Modz main event.

Completing the main event winners were Reeds Spring’s Mike Hailmann (Legends Cars), Everton’s Philip Schloesser (pure stock), Springfield’s Jim Reid (street stock) and Nixa’s Wesley Smith (Legends Young Lions).

Joplin’s Justin Comer finished second to Hailmann. Miami (Okla.) drivers Wayne Morris and Bret Testerman were second in street stock and pure stock, respectively.

Second-year driver Schloesser claimed the first A feature of his career.

More than 90 race teams checked into the pits.

The sixth annual John Kuntz Memorial, presented by Andy’s Frozen Custard, will be held this week.

The program will highlight the late model clash of MARS and MLRA traveling series. The winner of the 40-lap A feature will receive $3,000.

It’s a points show as extra money will be provided in all classes. The modified main event will pay $600 to the winner and $90 to start.

Kelly Shryock wins

WEST PLAINS, Mo. — Shryock, from Fertile (Iowa) and the top career winner on the United States Modified Touring Series, won for the first time on the 3/8-mile red clay of the West Plains Motor Speedway.

Shryock, who started on the pole and led all 40 laps, held off Springfield’s Terry Phillips.

Phillips, who started outside on the sixth row, won the $500 bonus fro, Hanson Tire Service as the hard charger of the race.

Shryock, who’s won 177 times in the series’ 14-year history, pocketed a total of $5,000. Phillips netted $2,700.

Third through fifth in the main event were Chris Brown, Spring, Texas; Jason Krohn, Slayton, Minn., and Ryan Gustin, Marshalltown, Iowa.

Gustin leads Shryock 518-494 in national points. Phillips is fifth.