The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


June 17, 2013

Parity highlights Oil Capital Racing Series

The promoter of the sprint car Oil Capital Racing Series has to like the way things have gone early this season.

How about seven different A feature winners in nine races?

Kacee Frazier and Alex DeCamp posted their first wins on Friday and Saturday nights, respectively.

Frazier, Tulsa, claimed her main event at the Monett Speedway. DeCamp, Coweta, prevailed at Tri-State Speedway in Pocola, Okla.

DeCamp finished 19th in the main event at Monett. Frazier placed 10th in the A feature at Tri-State.

Chance Morton and Danny Smith were 2-3 behind Frazier at Monett in the only appearance of the season for the Oklahoma-based OCRS at the 3/8-mile clay track.

Jamie Passmore and Morton trailed DeCamp at Tri-State.

Johnny Bone Jr., Pea Ridge, Ark., won the modified main event at Monett. Pierce City’s Brian Green, Oronogo’s Bobby Pearish and Carthage’s Jackie Dalton were second through fourth.

Dalton and Pearish finished 1-2 in Monett modified points in 2012. No. 5 Green pocketed the sportsmanship award in that class.

Republic’s Shawn Strong won the B modified main event. Jerry Hoffman of Oronogo, Toby Thompson of Mountain Grove and defending champion J.C. Morton of Springfield completed the top four.

Completing the main event winners were John Beard (pure stock) and Lonnie Muhlbauer (pro-4).

Mike Marlar triumphs

COLUMBUS, Miss. — Marlar, Winfield, Tenn., won the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series main event — paying $20,000 — on Saturday night at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

It was Marlar’s first win of the season on the circuit. Don O’Neal, Martinsville, Ind., was runner-up and John Blankenship, Williamson, W. Va., was third.

Marlar started third in the 100-lapper, O’Neal second and Blankenship fourth. David Breazeale, Philadelphia, Miss., started on the pole and finished 22nd among 24.

Recent Show-Me 100 winner Jimmy Owens, Newport, Tenn., was fourth after starting 12th. Owens leads Blankenship 2,370-2,250 in points.

John Allen victorious

HUMBOLDT, Kan. — Familiar names claimed modified main events at Humboldt Speedway on Friday night.

Allen, Chanute, claimed the modified A feature and Randy Zimmerman, Fort Scott, won the B modified main.

Brad Carroll won the pure stock main event and Gary Langworthy Jr. won in factory stock.

Lucas Oil MLRA

The late model series resumes in Kansas this week — Friday night at Humboldt and Saturday night at Thunderhill Speedway in Mayetta.

The A feature winners at both tracks receive $3,000.

Crane’s Will Vaught (491) and Springfield’s Terry Phillips (489) are 1-2 in points.

Completing the top five are John Anderson (471) of Omaha, Neb., Brad Looney (457) of Republic and Tony Jackson Jr. (428) of Lebanon.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports