The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO


June 20, 2013

Eight-man football all-star game moved to Commerce

The Oklahoma Eight Man Football Coaches Association All-Star Game has a new home this year.

A renovation project at Northeast Oklahoma A&M’s Robertson Field forced the game to move to Commerce High School’s Tiger Field.

The annual all-star game kicks off at 7 p.m. Saturday in Commerce with many of Oklahoma’s best eight-man football players butting heads.

The game has been played primarily in Miami since 2003.

It was previously played at Commerce in 2007 and 2008.

The game will go back to NEO next year.

Area players representing the Gold team include Bluejacket running back Dylan Anderson, Welch fullback and linebacker Logan Bruce and South Coffeyville fullback and defensive back Zach Cantrell.

The Gold squad will be coached by Laverne’s Tim Allen, Ringwood’s Rustin Donaldson, Rejoice Christian’s Albert Kemp and Copan’s Gary Askew.

Coaches for the Green team will be Fox’s Brent Phelps, Paoli’s Vince Fulks, Wetumka’s Waymon Potts and Cave Springs’ Tom Osborn.

Teams have been practicing since Wednesday.

There will be an awards banquet at 7 tonight in the Calcagno Family Ballroom of NEO’s Carter Student Union in Miami.

Oklahoma State assistant coach and former Missouri Tigers wide receiver Jason Ray will be the guest speaker.

Text Only
High School Sports
Missouri Southern Sports
Pittsburg State Sports