The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

August 2, 2013

Touring Series stops Sunday in Monett

By Anvil Welch
Globe Sports Writer

— The Hunt for the United States Modified Touring Series Casey’s Cup will include Sunday night’s stop at the Monett Speedway.

There’s no stock car racing tonight at Monett and Sunday’s visit will be the only USMTS appearance of the season at the 3/8-mile clay track.

The 7:30 p.m. program is the eighth annual USMTS Shootout. Support classes are B modified, pro-4 and pure stock.

The tripleheader weekend starts tonight at 8 at the Batesville (Ark.) Motor Speedway — located at Locust Grove — and continues at 7:30 Saturday night at the West Plains Motor Speedway.

The USMTS is making its third visit to Batesville and first since two shows in 2007. Those A feature winners were Jared Landers and Peyton Taylor. Nine-time national champion Kelly Shryock logged career win No. 177 at West Plains in 2012.

Promoter/track owner Randy Mooneyham has the USMTS at Monett for the 16th time. Terry Phillips and Ryan Gustin have won three A features apiece at Monett. Jason Hughes, coming off a $20,000 win last Saturday night in Minnesota, has won twice.

Grandstand gates open at 5 p.m. at Monett with hot laps at 7. Admission prices are $20 and $5. A pit pass is $35.

Fans can save $2 by picking up coupons on Sunday at both Casey’s General Stores in Monett.

The Monett Speedway, which lost last Friday’s program to the weather, resumes regular races on Aug. 9 and Aug. 16. It will close out the season with the annual 4-State Dirt Track Championships on Sept. 1 (a Sunday).

Nevada Speedway

Liberal’s Matthew Rose has a whopping lead of 425 points in the B modified standings entering Saturday night’s races.

Fort Scott drivers Tim Phillips and Trevor Vann are 1-2 in factory stock with 947 and 945, respectively.

Other leaders at the quarter-mile dirt track are Matthew Hendren,  Nevada, pure stock; William Self, Wheatland, Mo., mini stock, and Kevin Morrow, Bronaugh, modified.

Lucas Oil Speedway

Double features will be held in late model, modified and B modified on Saturday night’s 6:30 program at the Wheatland oval.

The three main events will be held before a complete show.

It’s Public Safety Appreciation Night with police, fire and rescue personnel admitted free.

“Racing to save the Hunt Night” is presented by the National Wildlife Turkey Federation.