The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

Top Stories

January 14, 2014

Joplin City Council candidate roster takes shape; election slated on April 8

Six candidates will vie for three general seats on the Joplin City Council in the April election, while two incumbents will compete for one of the zone seats.

City Clerk Barbara Hogelin said Tuesday that a total of nine candidates were certified for the April 8 ballot. Five of those are incumbents. The filing period closed at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

Two incumbents, Trisha Raney and Mike Woolston, will seek re-election to general seats in a field of candidates that includes challengers Jim West, Harvey Hutchinson, Miranda Lewis and Ryan Stanley.

West has previously served on the council twice. Hutchinson ran two years ago as a candidate for the Zone 2 seat. Mayor Melodee Colbert-Kean was re-elected to that seat.

Lewis and Stanley have not previously run.

In Zone 4, the incumbent, Mike Seibert, is challenged by an incumbent who currently holds a general seat, Jack Golden.

One incumbent, Gary Shaw in Zone 1, is unopposed.

In order to be certified, the candidates had to gather signatures on nominating petitions and sign a candidate declaration.

Joplin School Board

THE DEADLINE for filing for the three Joplin Board of Education seats that will be on the spring ballot is Tuesday, Jan. 21.

Text Only
Top Stories