The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

November 14, 2012

New slate of officers to take over Tri-State Water Resource Coalition

— David Hertzberg, public works director for the city of Joplin, will serve as the new president of the Tri-State Water Resource Coalition next year.

He succeeds Roddy Rogers, with City Utilities of Springfield, who will serve as past president of group.

The coalition, meeting Wednesday at Joplin City Hall, nominated a new slate of officers for 2013. Those officers are to be appointed when the coalition meets in January.

Other officers are Matt Barnhart, manager of the Missouri-American Water Co. in Joplin, vice president; Lyn Calton, city manager at Lamar, and Hal VanDaGriff, with the Empire District Electric Co. in Joplin.

At-large members of the executive board are Pete Rauch, manager of Monett’s municipal water system and head of the coalition’s technical committee, and Bob Williams, head of Carthage Water and Electric.

The Tri-State Water Resource Coalition, which is seeking new sources for water in the region, was formed in Joplin in 2003 after a study showed that water shortages could occur in Southwest Missouri during periods of extreme drought should the area’s population continue to grow.