The Joplin Globe, Joplin, MO

Top Stories

April 26, 2013

Jay Nixon nominates two for Southern’s Board of Governors

JOPLIN, Mo. — Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon on Friday nominated Keith G. Hankins, Stockton, and Glenn M. (Mitch) McCumber, Noel, to the Missouri Southern State University Board of Governors.

Both men are Republicans.

Hankins is the vice-president and general manager of Pennington Seed Inc. in Greenfield, where he oversees daily operations of the wholesale distribution and manufacturing plant.

A cattle and row crop farmer, he also owns Hankins Grain Co. in Clinton.

Hankins was appointed to a term through Aug. 30, 2016. He will replace Chuck Surface, who was appointed in 2011 but died last year.

McCumber is the chief executive officer for New-Mac Electric Cooperative in Neosho, and has been with the cooperative since 1995. Before that, he was with a number of CPA firms in Joplin and Neosho. McCumber is a certified public accountant, and earned his degree in business administration from Missouri Southern.

His term runs through Aug. 30, 2018. He will replace Nancy Perry, whose term expired last year.

The eight-person board currently has five members: Sherry Buchanan, of Joplin, who was appointed in 2009; Richard Walter, of Joplin, who was appointed in 2007; Lynn Ewing III, of Nevada, who was appointed in 2010; James Fleischaker, of Joplin, who was appointed in 2011; and Rod Anderson, of Monett, who has continued to serve on the board since the expiration of his term in September 2009.

Board members are appointed to six-year terms. They are not paid but are reimbursed for expenses.

David Jones, of Springfield, whose term expired in 2011, has not been replaced.

Buchanan, chairwoman of the board, said recently that Perry and Jones opted to resign from their positions upon the expiration of their terms. Under the board’s bylaws, Anderson can remain in his post on his expired term until the governor names a replacement for him, she said.

Appointments to the board must be approved by the Missouri senate.

According to the board’s bylaws, six of the eight board members must live in Jasper, Newton, McDonald, Barry, Barton, Dade or Lawrence counties, with no more than three appointed from any one county. Two are selected from other counties in the state.

Additionally, no more than four members may belong to the same political party. Of the five sitting members, four are Democrats, with Walter listed as an independent.


Text Only
Top Stories
  • r071114redoak2.jpg Red Oak II: Lowell Davis’ ‘dream, art, love’ and final resting place

    The collection of buildings would become a town (though he didn’t intend for it to, and it has never been officially recognized either by the U.S. Postal Service or the state of Missouri).

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • Anti-landfill group seeks grand jury probe

    As more than 200 people filed into Riverton High School on Sunday to attend an anti-landfill group meeting, many stopped to sign a petition asking the Cherokee County District Court to summon a grand jury to investigate how land was acquired by the city of Galena for a proposed landfill.

    July 27, 2014

  • Money clouds farm fight

    For much of the summer, while the campaign surrounding “right to farm” has been focused on its impact on “small, family farmers,” the bulk of the money pouring into the fight has come from big agriculture interests.

    July 26, 2014

  • r072514schoolhouse3.jpg VIDEO: Full of history, one-room schools focus of preservation by local groups

    The old Kings Prairie school sits on a narrow Barry County farm road, surrounded by quiet fields and farmland.

    July 25, 2014 6 Photos 1 Slideshow

  • 072814_jd anderson.jpg VIDEO: Noel strongman advances on talent show

    The past week has been busier than normal for Noel resident J.D. Anderson. Members of the production crew for NBC’s “America’s Got Talent” told him they have shot more footage of him than of other contestants for the next episode. “They said I have the busiest schedule of anyone this week,” Anderson told the Globe in a phone interview Friday. “There’s so many fun things you can do with B-roll as a strongman.”

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • r072314girlgunclub3.jpg Women's league offers practice, social opportunities for gun owners

    The objective for some is to improve their skills for target or competitive shooting, the league's website says. Others, while wanting to improve their skills, also are interested in aspects of self-defense.

    July 27, 2014 1 Photo

  • r072414trainwreck2.jpg Train crash a century ago among area’s worst disasters

    Burk Johnson had been threshing wheat near Joplin when his newlywed son and daughter-in-law picked him up and took him to Joplin’s Union Depot to catch the evening train home to Neosho.

    July 26, 2014 4 Photos

  • 072614 Faith 2.jpg Rich Brown: McDonald County Children's choir combines music with a gospel ministry

    The McDonald County Children's Choir may entertain a lot of people, but the hope is that it will bless even more through its ministry, according to choir director Amber Nelson.

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • Appellate court upholds class-action status for Picher residents

    An appellate court upheld a 2013 ruling on Thursday that a class-action lawsuit brought by former residents of Picher, Oklahoma, against a Tulsa-based appraisal firm involved with the buyout of property in the city can proceed.

    July 25, 2014

  • 1717 Marketplace developer faces more federal charges

    The developer of 1717 Marketplace in Joplin has been indicted with more bankruptcy fraud charges, in addition to those leveled against him last year for a series of bank fraud and wire fraud schemes that totaled more than $3.3 million in losses.

    July 25, 2014