NEOSHO, Mo. - Alyssa DuBois, Neosho, won several awards at the New Star Discovery 2004 baby pageant held at Northpark Mall in Joplin.

She won a trophy and body shot award in the photogenic competition, a trophy and $200 fee for the state competition for the Most Beautiful Baby 17-23 months, and a trophy and $300 photo package from George Papadakis for New Star Discovery Overall Most Beautiful Baby from 1 month to 4 years old.

She will compete in the Missouri state competition in Springfield during Memorial Day weekend and attend a photo shoot with Papadakis Photography Studios in Illinois.

She is the daughter of LaTosha Arnold and Perry DuBois, both of Neosho.


The Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School Academic Team won the Class 1, District 3 Academic Bowl on April 17.

Thomas Jefferson team members Seth Kinast, Josh Porte and Tyler Fraum were also named to the All-District Team.

Other members of the All-District Team are James Ryal and Kelby McGuire, both of Lockwood; Hallie Hocker, Drexel; Cody Loyd, Ballard; Haley Malle, Golden City; and Kevin Huff, Archie.

In the semifinal round, Thomas Jefferson defeated Drexel High School by the score of 365 to 10. In the championship match against Lockwood High School, Thomas Jefferson won by the score of 400 to 45. Other teams competing included Archie, Ballard and Golden City.

Members of the Thomas Jefferson Academic Team include seniors Tyler Fraum, Seth Kinast (all-state team 2003) and Laura Reinsvold; juniors Eric Fleischaker, Jacob Gutwillig and Josh Porte (all-state team 2003); sophomores Mary McDonald, Allison Osborn, Nick Reinsvold and Drew Tillis; and freshman Nathan Kinast. Troy Kinast coaches the team.


WEBB CITY, Mo. - The Webb City High School Academic Bowl Team earned first place at the Class 4 district competition.

Taige Hou earned the position of "No. 1" tournament player. He and Neeraj Bang were both selected as members of the All-district team.

The team will compete May 8 at the state competition. Team members are Taige Hou, captain, Neeraj Bang, Will Siegfried, Zach Noland, Casey Slaughter, Tyler Collings and Jared Metcalf.


Charles "Eli" Welch, Joplin, has been named a United States National Award Winner in history and government.

Welch, a student at College Heights Christian School, will appear in the United States Achievement Academy Official Yearbook, which is published nationally.

He is the son of Chuck and Nancy Welch, Joplin, and the grandson of Mr. and Mrs. Charles Welch, Joplin, and Audrey Boyer, Fairland, Okla.


Andrew Jordan, Joplin, has won a $1,000 scholarship from the Missouri Society of Certified Public Accountants to study accounting.

Jordan is a senior majoring in accounting at Southwest Missouri State University, Springfield. He was one of 56 Missouri students to receive the scholarship.


DIAMOND, Mo. - Several seventh-and eighth-grade members of the Diamond Middle School bands performed in the Pittsburg (Kan.) State University Mid-America Music Festival.

Students earned the following ratings:

One rating - Kasey Hockman and Cierra Gravett, both flute solo; Emily Edge, tenor sax; Seth Cronister and Cassie Sharon, both alto sax; Chris Cupp and Sami Holmes, both snare; and Seth Cronister, piano.

Two rating - Mike Testerman, baritone solo.

The Diamond bands will present their free spring concert at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, May 16, in the Diamond High School gym.


WEBB CITY, Mo. - Jason Baumgardner, a junior at Webb City High School, has been accepted to the High School Mini Medical School program sponsored by the University of Missouri School of Medicine.

The one-week summer academy gives academically talented students with an interest in medicine a preview of medical school. Students are selected based on high school grade-point average, academic transcript, standardized test scores, student's personal statement and counselor's recommendation.

He is the son of Mr. and Mrs. Bill Baumgardner.


There were two teacher and 19 student exams at a recent examination session for the Southwest Committee of the National Cecchetti Council of America, hosted at Karen's Dance Studio in Joplin.

Those passing were the following:

Teacher grade VI - Jessica Adam, Oklahoma City, student of Jody Isenhour; teacher grade I - Kristina Castro, Bentonville, Ark., student of Karen Drouin; professional grade V - Martha Alford and Abbey Ellington, both of Joplin; student grade IV - Hannah Hamilton, Holly Kingore, Rebecca Whitsett, all of Joplin, and Audrey Davidson, Webb City; student grade II - Chelsey Crissinger, Carl Junction; Kirsten Falkenberry, Neosho; Aubrey Cooke, Webb City; Sasha Cumpton, Sarcoxie; Emma Meek and Jordan Chambers, both of Joplin; and Alexandria Bouse, Springfield; student grade I - Nicole Moore, Hanelle Reeder and Adrienne Parnell, all of Springfield; Katy Kaminsky, Christina Mann and Taylor Mann, all of Joplin.


Drew Tillis, a student at Thomas Jefferson Independent Day School, has been selected one of 330 students to attend the 2004 Missouri Scholars Academy June 13 through July 3 at the University of Missouri-Columbia.

The gifted students attending the academy will be exposed to a wide range of activities and intensive instruction in their chosen area of specialization.

She is the daughter of Dr. and Mrs. Fred Tillis.

Trending Video