The Joplin Globe will be among nearly two dozen honorees to be recognized next week at the 15th annual Friends of National Service Awards in Washington, D.C.

The 20 award winners in government, business and journalism were selected based on recognition and support for national service as a solution to some of the nation’s most pressing challenges, according to Voices for National Service. Each award winner has helped to raise public awareness of national service and elevate service as a national priority, officials said.

“These honorees are extraordinary leaders from across the country who understand the unique value of national service as an efficient strategy for engaging citizens, preparing young adults for work, solving problems and strengthening and uniting our nation,” said AnnMaura Connolly, president of Voices for National Service. “Their commitment to national service, and their leadership in advancing it, directly benefits communities large and small.”

Carol Stark, Joplin Globe editor, said the newspaper's coverage of the May 2011 tornado included the impact of national service organizations focused on disaster recovery. After the tornado, organizations such as AmeriCorps logged countless hours in Joplin.

"The resiliency of Joplin and Duquesne residents was inspirational," she said. "But we know that whether it's recovery from a tornado of historic proportions, hurricanes such as those recently experienced or the scorch of wildfires across the West, a nation that stands ready to help both with service and dollars is necessary. Joplin can attest to that. We are proud to accept this award."

The 2018 Friends of National Service awards and honorees are:

• Distinguished Service Award to Louisiana Sen. Bill Cassidy and Delaware Sen. Chris Coons.

• Edward M. Kennedy National Service Lifetime Leadership Award to Rep. Doris Matsui, of California.

• Service to Country Award to Sen. John McCain, of Arizona.

• Congressional Service Award to Missouri Sen. Roy Blunt, Missouri Rep. Billy Long, Washington Sen. Patty Murray and Indiana Rep. Susan Brooks.

• State Leadership Award to Washington Gov. Jay Inslee and Louisiana Lt. Gov. William Nungesser.

• Franklin D. Roosevelt Service and Conservation Corps Leadership Award to Sen. Lamar Alexander, of Tennessee.

• Outstanding New Member Award to Louisiana Sen. John Kennedy and Washington Rep. Pramila Jayapal.

• Local Leadership Award to Mayor Ethan Berkowitz, of Anchorage, Alaska, and Mayor Sam Liccardo, of San Jose, California.

• Service in Media Award to The Joplin Globe and Tulsa (Oklahoma) World.

• Citizen Service Award to Mississippi Gov. Haley Barbour, and Michael and Susan Dell.


Congress created the Corporation for National and Community Service, the federal agency that oversees national service programs such as AmeriCorps and Senior Corps, to be a public-private partnership that invests limited federal dollars to leverage substantial private investment to improve lives and communities.

As a result, national service members of all ages and backgrounds tutor and mentor struggling students, help Americans lead healthier lives, provide job training and other services to returning veterans, preserve the nation’s parks and public lands, offer disaster relief and recovery assistance after natural disasters and support independent living for seniors and Americans with disabilities, according to Voices for National Service.

Trending Video

Emily Younker is the managing editor at the Joplin Globe. Contact: eyounker AT joplinglobe DOT com.