The Missouri Housing Development Commission approved the following eight projects for Joplin and Webb City today during a meeting in Columbia.

- Delaware Duplex Community, 20 duplex units at 20th Street and Maryland Avenue.

- Canyon Trails Townhomes, 52 units near 1300 W. 17th St. in Webb City.

- Hope Cottages, 32 low-income houses to be built on scattered lots between Virginia and Grand avenues from 20th to 26th streets.

- Eagle Ridge, a 40-unit low-income apartment complex at 611 W. 25th St.

- Parkwood Senior Housing, 42 apartments at 1300 N. Range Line Road.

- Union City Homes, 53 houses for mixed-income buyers on scattered lots near Range Line Road in the tornado zone.

- Forest Park Apartments, 32 one- and two-story row houses near 29th Street and McClelland Boulevard.

- Hampshire Terrace II, a 84-unit complex at 2021 Hampshire Terrace.

Missouri Gov. Jay Nixon set aside $122 million in tax credits for the commission to award to rebuild housing lost in the May 22 tornado. Nixon and several other state officeholders such as Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder are members of the commission. The commission’s staff studies the proposals submitted, and held two public hearings to gather comments by residents in deciding which projects to recommend.