KANSAS CITY, Mo. — "A great day" marked the end of Jessica Selby-Tallman's track and field career at Missouri Southern in 2008.

And, it was a busy day for her at the NCAA Division II Outdoor Track and Field Championships.

"Horrible weather ... the hammer was delayed until the same day as the shot put and it kept raining," she said. "I went into the (hammer) finals in third place after being ranked No. 1 all year. I go in for my last throw and somehow hung onto it and threw a bomb and ended with a national title. I got to end up on top that year.

"I had the honor to get to sing the national anthem, and I got to do that all through the national competitions I competed. I thew the hammer. I won, got to take the (awards) podium and then pretty much went on and sang the national anthem. Then I jogged onto the field and threw the shot and had a season-best mark outdoors. It was a great day."

Selby-Tallman had another great day Monday when she was inducted into the MIAA Hall of Fame during the conference's awards ceremony in the Truman Forum of the Kansas City Public Library Plaza Branch.

Selby-Tallman is the most decorated female thrower in Missouri Southern history, capped by her national championship in the hammer throw. She also was a three-time national runner-up in the shot put. She won a dozen MIAA championships — four outdoor shot put, four indoor shot put, three hammer throws and one weight throw.

She was named national outdoor field scholar-athlete of the year in 2008 and was a finalist for the MIAA's Ken B. Jones Award that year. She was a three-time MSSU women's athlete of the year and still holds the school record in the hammer throw and the Leggett & Platt Athletic Center and Fred G. Hughes Stadium records in the shot put.


Two representatives from Pittsburg State basketball — 3-point sniper Jenni Miller Croy and men's coach Gene Iba — also were inducted into the MIAA Hall of Fame.

Miller knocked down 364 3-point shots for the Gorillas from 1994-97 — the second-highest total in NCAA women's basketball history at the time. And her average of 3.28 treys per game was the best in the women's game at the time.

She was named honorable mention All-American as a senior when she averaged 17.8 points and became the Gorillas' career scoring leader at 1,809 points (16.3 average for 111 games). She was a four-time all-MIAA selection and helped the Gorillas win a share of the conference title in 1996 and make NCAA Tournament appearances in 1995 and 1997.

After her senior season she was one of eight competitors selected to compete in the NCAA Women's National 3-Point Shootout in Indianapolis.

Iba led the resurgence of the Gorillas' men's basketball program during his 15-year stint as head coach from 1996-2010.

He led PSU to its first NCAA Tournament appearance in 1997 — reaching the Sweet 16 — and four more national tournament appearances (1998, 1999, 2005, 2007). The 2005 team also reached the Sweet 16.

Under Iba, the Gorillas won their first MIAA regular-season title and No. 1 national ranking in 1999. The 72 victories from 1997 through 1999 are the highest three-year win total in school history.

Iba retired with a 261-172 record with the Gorillas and 487-374 career mark that included stints at Houston Baptist (1978-85) and Baylor (1986-92).


Also going into the hall of fame were basketball players Bill Jolly from Missouri S&T, Nikki Olberding-Greenwalt from Washburn, Michelle Stueve Corpening of Emporia State, track and field multi-events standouts Erin Alewine and Brent Vogel from Central Missouri, softball pitcher Melissa Stevens from Emporia State and basketball/high jumper Bob Sundell from Northwest Missouri.

O.K. "Dimp" Evans from William Jewell was a Legacy inductee.

He played for the Cardinals — one of the original members of the MIAA in 1912 — from 1917-20 and lettered in five sports during the 1918-19 school year — football, basketball, baseball, track and field and tennis. He played halfback in football, led the basketball team in scoring, batted .490 as a senior in baseball and won two singles and one doubles championship in the conference tennis meets.