From staff reports

KANSAS CITY, Mo. — Nick Smart from Southwest Baptist and Michelle Stueve from Emporia State received the Ken B. Jones Awards on Thursday night.

The awards, highlighting a banquet at the Downtown Marriott Hotel’s Basie Ballroom, are presented to the MIAA’s student-athletes of the year.

Smart, a football player and former high school standout at Marionville, was selected on 10 of the 11 ballots cast and received 23 of a possible 33 points.

Stueve, an All-American basketball player, was named on all 11 ballots and scored 27 points.

Other finalists were Missouri Southern track and field athlete Jessica Selby-Tallman, who was also a finalist in 2007, and Washburn soccer-basketball player Jessica Mainz for the women’s award and Pittsburg State football player Caleb Farabi and Emporia State baseball player Brian Majors for the men’s award. The conference did not release vote totals for all candidates.

The awards, determined by a vote of 11 conference administrators, are named for the league’s first full-time commissioner. Jones retired in 1997 after 16 years of service and died in 2004.

Trending Video